Register here for the 2018 Recognition Luncheon


United Way of Portage County will hold its 2018 Recognition Luncheon Wednesday, Feb. 13, at noon at the Holiday Inn & Conference Center in Stevens Point. Register for the event by clicking here or on “2018 Recognition Luncheon” under the Events tab at the top of the page.

Highlights from the event will include:

INDIVIDUAL HONORS: United Way of Portage County will honor several longtime individual supporters, as well as some more recent supporters who worked collectively to make the 2018 campaign a record-setting effort.

Among the individual honorees are Dennis Peterson, who will receive the Tina Peters Dedicated Service Award; Nathaniel Springer, who will receive the Fritzie Marquard LIVE UNITED Volunteer of the Year Award; Dawn Cherek, who will receive the Speakers Bureau Award; Aaron Deering, Tammie Hutchinson, and Tina Grimm, who will each receive the Special Recognition Award; Carrie Dreger and Steve Martin, who will receive the Creative Excellence Award; and Doug Ballweg, who will be recognized for his outstanding service as United Way Board President in 2018.

In addition, the team of campaign coordinators at Skyward, Inc. will receive the Campaign Coordinator Team of the Year Award.

RECOGNITION FOR ORGANIZATIONS: Dozens of Portage County organizations will receive recognition for contributing to 2018’s record-setting United Way of Portage County Campaign.

Verso-Stevens Point Mill will receive the 2018 Community Spirit Award, a traveling award presented each year to an organization that demonstrates outstanding corporate and employee support of United Way, exemplifies great community spirt, and defines what it means to LIVE UNITED.

Lineage Logistics, CN Railroad, Steel King Industries, Roosevelt Elementary School, and BMO Harris Bank will receive the Special Service Award for commitment, leadership and innovation through an internal campaign or on behalf of the community campaign.

McDill Elementary School will claim the Education Services Award, which is awarded for outstanding effort from the community’s education institutions.
Aspirus-Stevens Point Clinic will receive the Best New Campaign Award, while Sentry Insurance will receive the Million Dollar Circle Award for running its fourth consecutive million-dollar campaign in 2018.

Delta Dental of Wisconsin will receive the Corporate Volunteer Engagement Award for its proactive approach in providing and promoting volunteer engagement opportunities for its employees.

Organizations will also be honored for reaching specific goals, giving and campaign participation levels during the 2018 campaign.

PASSING OF THE LEADERSHIP TORCH: The 2018 Campaign Drive Chair team of Vikki Nason, Kathy Davies, Amber Houck, Shannon Semmerling, and Anna Weisbrod will pass the leadership torch to the incoming campaign team of Jeff Budelier, Doug Munsey, and Les Dobbe.

The 2018 drive chairs led United Way to a record-breaking year in which corporate and individual donations totaled $3,125,180. United Way will present several tokens of its appreciation to them during the event.

PRIZE GIVEAWAY: One lucky attendee of the Recognition Luncheon will go home with an exclusive United Way pendant created by award-winning jeweler Thomas Dailing. The 14-karat yellow gold pendant with an 8.7 millimeter Tahitian pearl and gold-fill wheat chain has an estimated value of $1,800. The pendant and chain were donated by Lee Ayers Jewelers.

Investors Community Bank and Amerprise Financial Services are event sponsors for the 2018 United Way Recognition Luncheon. More information is available by visiting, calling United Way at 715-341-6740, or emailing