2016 United Way Recognition Luncheon set for Feb. 1


United Way of Portage County will hold its 2016 Recognition Luncheon Wednesday, Feb. 1, at noon at the Holiday Inn & Conference Center in Stevens Point. Register for the event at www.unitedwaypoco.org by clicking “2016 Recognition Luncheon” under the Events tab.

Highlights from the event will include:

INDIVIDUAL HONORS: United Way of Portage County will honor several longtime individual supporters, as well as some more recent supporters who worked collectively to make the 2016 campaign a record-setting effort.

Among the individual honorees are Bob and Mary Berard, who will receive United Way’s Lifetime Achievement Award, and Jim Weishan, who will receive the Tina Peters Dedicated Service Award. All three have served on various United Way committees and boards, and have assisted United Way with multiple efforts throughout the years. The Berards also served as campaign drive chairs in 2010.

Other individual honorees include Heather Wynne who will receive the Fritzie Marquard LIVE UNITED Volunteer of the Year Award; Shannon Flaherty who will receive the Speakers Bureau Award; Nathaniel Springer, Steve Martin, Don Scaffidi, and Tom Davis, who will each receive the Special Recognition Award; and Mark Hilliker, who will receive the Board President award for serving as the United Way Board of Directors President in 2016.

In addition, Cheryl Filtz, Cheryl Bloczynski and Barbara Lepkowski of Ministry Saint Michael’s Hospital will receive the Campaign Coordinator Team of the Year Award.

RECOGNITION FOR ORGANIZATIONS: Dozens of Portage County organizations will receive recognition for contributing to 2016’s record-setting United Way of Portage County Campaign.

Associated Bank will receive the 2016 Community Spirit Award, a traveling award presented each year to an organization that demonstrates outstanding corporate and employee support of United Way, exemplifies great community spirt, and defines what it means to LIVE UNITED.

Donaldson Company, Neenah Paper-Whiting Mill, Verso Corporation-Stevens Point Mill and Skyward will receive the Special Service Award for commitment, leadership and innovation through an internal campaign or on behalf of the community campaign.

Mid-State Technical College will claim the Education Services Award, which is awarded for outstanding effort from the community’s secondary and post-secondary education institutions.

Monogram Foods will receive the Best New Campaign Award, while Sentry Insurance will receive the Million Dollar Circle Award for having running its second consecutive million-dollar campaign in 2016.

Organizations will also be honored for reaching specific goals, amounts, and percentages in corporate and employee campaigns.

PASSING OF THE LEADERSHIP TORCH: The Hofmeister/Okray family of Spectra Print, United Way of Portage County’s 2016 Campaign Drive Chairs, will pass the leadership torch to the Blenker family during event.

The Hofmeisters/Okrays led United Way to a record-breaking year in which corporate and individual donations totaled $2,932,411. United Way will present several tokens of its appreciation to them during the event.

They’ll hand over the reins to Pam Jewell and Peter Blenker, and their children and spouses, Jason and Jenny Blenker, Kris and Angel Blenker, and Justin and Melissa Blenker. The Blenker family owns and operates Blenker Companies in Amherst.

PRIZE GIVEAWAY: One lucky attendee of the Recognition Luncheon will go home with an exclusive United Way pendant created by award-winning jeweler Thomas Dailing. The 14-karat white gold pendant with an 8-millimeter Tahitian Pearl and 10-karat white gold box chain has an estimated value of $2,300. The pendant and chain was donated by Lee Ayers Jewelers.

Investors Community Bank and Amerprise Financial Services are event sponsors for the 2016 United Way Recognition Luncheon. More information is available by visiting www.unitedwaypoco.org, calling United Way at 715-341-6740, or emailing uway@unitedwaypoco.org.